Breaking News

Poll bound Chhattisgarh, Congress list of 30 candidates out, sitting Ministers accommodated, CM Bhupesh Baghel fielded from Patan, his confidante Girish Devangan pitted against former CM

The much awaited Congress list of candidates for poll bound Chhattisgarh is out. Among the thirty names announced, many are sitting Ministers who in any case were to be accommodated to give out the message that their working is satisfactory.

While Chief Minister Bhupesh Baghel has been fielded yet again from Patan seat, his close confidante Girish Devangan has been pitted against former CM Dr Raman Singh in Rajnandgaon. Deputy CM TS Singhdeo continues to stake claim from his home turf of Ambikapur.

Former state Congress chief Mohan Markam gets a ticket from Kondagaon despite many speculations that some are opposing his candidature.

With 30 candidates announced out of 90 seats, it is clear that the ruling party is apprehensive of not declaring candidates too soon as it might trigger rebellion from other stakeholders.

The Congress list of thirty candidates is out on the third day of first phase nomination ongoing. Chhattisgarh is to vote on Nov 7 for first phase where 20 seats will be covered and then voting for remaining seats will take place on Nov 17.