Breaking News
One Nation One Election
One Nation One Election

One Nation One Election, High Level Committee meets for second time, suggestions invited from political parties

Amid the hulabaloo over the five state election, a High-Level Committee constituted by the Government under the chairpersonship of Ram Nath Kovind, former President of India, to examine the issue relating to holding of simultaneous elections in the country and make recommendations thereon held its second meeting here.

Amit Shah, the Union Home Minister and Minister of Cooperation, Ghulam Nabi Azad, former Leader of Opposition, Rajya Sabha, Arjun Ram Meghwal, Minister of State (Independent Charge) Ministry of Law and Justice, N. K. Singh, former Chairman, 15th Finance Commission, Dr. Subhash C. Kashyap, former Secretary General, Lok Sabha, Harish Salve, Senior Advocate and Sanjay Kothari, former Chief Vigilance Commissioner attended the meeting.

After welcoming the Members of the HLC to the second meeting, the Chairman of the Committee Ram Nath Kovind along with the members confirmed the minutes of the first meeting held on 23rd of September and the action taken on the decisions thereof.

Secretary of the Committee Niten Chandra apprised the Committee members about the various follow up actions taken on decisions taken in the first meeting.  The Committee was informed that according to the decision taken earlier the HLC has been renamed as ‘High Level Committee on One Nation, One Election’ (‘एक देश, एक चुनाव के लिए उच्च स्तरीय समिति’). The Committee was also informed that letters have been sent to 6 (six) National parties, 33 (thirty-three) State parties and 7 (seven) Registered unrecognised parties inviting their suggestions on One nation One Election.

The Secretary further informed the Committee that a website has also been developed for the One Nation One Election, which besides being a repository of all relevant information on the subject, shall provide a platform for interaction and receiving suggestions from all stakeholders. The website was launched during the meeting.

The Law Commission of India made a presentation during the meeting elaborating their suggestions and viewpoints on the issue of simultaneous elections in the country. The law commission was represented by its Chairperson Justice Ritu Raj Awasthi, Prof. (Dr.) Anand Paliwal Member and Member Secretary Shri Khetrabasi Biswal.

The following decisions were unanimously taken by the Committee:

  1. Budgetary provision for the HLC for current FY -2023-24 was approved.
  2. Resignation of Adhir Ranjan Choudhury, Leader of the single largest party in the Lok Sabha from the membership of HLC was noted.