Breaking News
Download App

Jailed leaders Amritpal and Rashid, to take oath today, as Members of Parliament


Jailed leaders Amritpal Singh

Jailed leaders Amritpal Singh and Engineer Rashid is to take oath as Lok Sabha MPs today. Waris Punjab De' activist Amritpal Singh was flown to Delhi from Dibrugarh jail for his swearing-in as a Member of Parliament. Rashid will be taken to Parliament from Tihar jail in Delhi.

Amritpal Singh and Engineer Rashid will be sworn in as Khadoor Sahib and Baramulla MPs, respectively, in Delhi today. The two won in the recently concluded Lok Sabha election. 

The parole is solely for the purpose of taking the oath. It will be for four days to accommodate possible weather-related travel disruptions. The parole comes with specific conditions communicated to the Dibrugarh jail superintendent. Amritpal Singh contested as an independent in the 2024 Lok Sabha elections and was able to win Khadoor Sahib seat, defeating Congress candidate Kulbir Singh Zira by a margin of 1,97,120 votes.

Likewise, Rashid Engineer is accused in a terror funding case and has been in jail since 2019. The shocking victory Engineer Rashid pulled off was by defeating former J&K CM and National Conference leader Omar Abdullah. It is likely that Engineer Rashid will be taken to the Speaker's chamber to take oath and after completion of all formalities, will be taken back to the jail.