Breaking News

Free visa to Indians, island nation makes big decision to boost tourism

In a significant decision, the Sri Lanka cabinet approved issuing of free visas to India, China, Russia, Malaysia, Japan, Indonesia and Thailand with immediate effect as a pilot project till 31 March.

This was made public by the Minister of Foreign Affairs of Sri Lanka, Ali Sabry.

The move is aimed at increasing the tourist arrivals from these countries and help the local economy.

The Lankan government is of the view that the decision will help tourists from hassles in obtaining visas and thus boost the tendency to visit Sri Lanka.