Breaking News
Image Ad

Grand opposition alliance two day Mumbai meet begins today, convener, coordination committee could be finalized, suspense over PM candidate consensus

Image Ad

Ahead of the 2024 national election, the grand opposition alliance is set to meet in Mumbai and finalize host of issues to smoothen out intra party relations to take on the formidable BJP. Posters and hoardings, showing leaders of the INDIA alliance put up in Mumbai ahead of the two-day meeting of the alliance starting today.

While the convener of the grand opposition alliance may be decided in these meetings, a coordination committee might also be announced.

The voices from different political leaders naming their own party chiefs as suitable candidate for post of Prime Minister against Narendra Modi have meanwhile soured the ambience a bit but the senior leaders rushed to douse the impact of it in the meeting.

It is learnt that the alliance would not consist of 28 political parties against BJP led NDA and there might be progress in discussions over the ”one seat one candidate” formula against BJP’s candidates. A total of 450 such seats have been identified where the grand opposition alliance would field just one candidate against BJP’s to ensure that anti BJP votes are not divided.

Like earlier coalitions too, the grand opposition alliance will move forward based on a common minimum programme. “It is our (opposition parties) duty to save the country, and I believe that the INDIA alliance will win (the upcoming Lok Sabha polls),” says Maharashtra Congress leader Nana Patole on INDIA alliance’s Mumbai meeting.

“Our count has increased from 26 to 28. Our count is increasing, and so is our self-confidence,” says Congress leader Pawan Khera, on opposition alliance’s meeting.

Shiv Sena (Uddhav Balasaheb Thackeray)

Indian National Congress

All India Trinamool Congress (TMC)

Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK)

Aam Aadmi Party (AAP)

Janata Dal (United)

Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD)

Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM)

Nationalist Congress Party (NCP)

Samajwadi Party (SP)

Rashtriya Lok Dal (RLD)

Apna Dal (Kamerwadi)

Jammu And Kashmir National Conference (NC)

People’s Democratic Party (PDP)

Communist Party Of India (Marxist)

Communist Party Of India (CPI)

Revolutionary Socialist Party (RSP)

All India Forward Block

Marumalarchi Dravia Munnetra Kazhagam (MDMK)

Viduthalai Chiruthaigal Katchi (VCK)

Kongunadu Makkal Desia Katchi (KMDK)

Communist Party Of India (Marxist – Leninist) Liberation

Manithaneya Makkal Katchi (MMK)

Indian Union Muslim League (IUML)

Kerala Congress (M)

Kerala Congres – J

Peasants and Workers Party Of India

Join Whatsapp Group